| Login | Register |

| | |

Romancing with Penfolds
It will be a nice day. Sheep are bleating and birds are chirping across the golden fields. The bouquet of scents from the apple trees and fresh cut lawn follow the soothing breeze into the room. The sun is tenderly shining through the crystal clear blue sky. The comfort prevails while I, "little by little", sipped the pale color, crisp, refreshing and expressive "Bin 144 Yattarna Chardonnay". First introduced in 1995, this wine was evolved to bring out the essence and philosophy of Penfolds on the basis of cool-climate fruit. The intense limy citrus and blossoming chamomile notes complements and completes the fragrance in the room. The natural mineral acidities and the generous apple and white peach flavours are lingering and dreamful. Yet, the dream can hardly stay long, it is time for the visit to the heritage of Penfolds.
The history started when the Penfolds family arrived at the Grange Cottage of Makgill (later named Magill), a vast estate on the foothills of the Mount Lofty Ranges, Adelaide in 1844. Throughout the years, no matter how wine styles could alter, the philosophy to strive for perfection and the openmindness to revolutionary methods never change. Before 1948, wine production was mainly on tonic wines and fortified wines. The major turn for still wines was accidental and fateful and in turn modified Penfolds wine profiles and destiny. In 1948, Max Schubert, the father of "Penfolds Grange", was supposed to visit Europe on the main purpose of investigating Sherry production. The side visit to Bordeaux fired his imagination to make a wine that is "capable of staying alive for a minimum of twenty years". His will and passion laid the cornerstones to the first vintage of the iconic "Grange Shiraz" in 1951.
As I walk by the century - old Grange Cottage, pass through the underground tunnels and enter the heritage-listed bluestone cellars in Magill Estate with a glass of "Bin 389 Cabernet Shiraz" - "Poor Man's Grange" in hand, I am fascinated, absorbed and taken away by this historic heritage. "Bin 389" had its first vintage in 1960, a perfect toasting wine to Penfolds history when the wine is at heart a heritage itself. It is a quintessential expression of Penfolds philosophy in exemplifying the benefits of cross-varietal and multi-regional blending. The standard qualities that carry across the past 54 vintages encompass freshness with succulent dark berry fruit, intense floral notes with fine grained tannins, good structure, complexity and great balance. It is an early approachable yet lasting wine that will never let you down.
I pamper myself further when I strolled down the vineyards, accompanied by a gorgeous "Bin 707 Cabernet Sauvignon" and a magnificent sunset. This multi regional blend are sourced from warm to hot climate fruit, coinciding the same warmth felt in the fields. It is deep and immensely concentrated with ripe and rich dark fruits and exotic aromas of chocolate, smoked nuts, liquorice and spices. The sunset kaleidoscopic colors echo and intensify the sensual and layered flavors of the wine. I close my eyes to carve this scene into my soul. When I reopen my eyes, the scarlet sky is gone and the orange ball has sunk behind the landscape.
Dinner starts just after dusk set in. It is a glamorous ballroom with uncountable crystal chandeliers that sparkle and beam up every smiling face in the room. The grand wine to match the unrivalled grandeur and luxuriousness have to be the iconic "Penfolds Grange Shiraz".
A bottle of Penfolds Bin 1 Grange Hermitage 1951 fetched a record high price AUD53,936 at Langton's Annual Penfolds Wine Auction in 2008. To me, drinking Grange is like drinking history as well as extravagance, feeling a bit guilty but excusable, I hope, at least for tonight.
Grange is grand in the ways that it is commenced by revolutionary vision, supported by undefeatable persistence and energized by unbreakable faith. This seductive, full-bodied and well-balanced Grange would not have existed at all if Max Schubert did not experiment in 1951; this fragrant, concentrated and rich Grange would have gone dead if Max Schubert did not secretly make Grange between 1957-1959 and keep all the past vintages (1951-1956) in the underground cellars of Magill when the Penfolds Board actually ordered to stop Grange making in 1957, after an unsuccessful tasting by the Board; this powerful, long lasting Grange would not have evolved and matured to become Penfolds' iconic wine if Max Schubert and his successors did not embrace the faith that the best reward is patience.
It is almost midnight, a clam and starry one. By the fireplace, my "princess" is resting on my lap gracefully, looking up to me innocently in her glistening, glassy - like golden brown eyes, and awaiting patiently my daily touching and tickling service. The flame is gentle and the air is sweetened by the amber brown color "Penfolds Grandfather Fine Old Liqueur Tawny N.V". The wine is as soft and silky as my furry calico. Flavors are superb and rich. The rancio, nutty, dried fruits and caramel aromas buoyantly float in the air and mingle harmoniously with the ever-lasting song playing from the radio..."when life was slow and oh so mellow"...
What a wonderful day!
Back
Text : Salina Fok, AIWS
23 Dec 2014
Submit Matching

Ca' Del Grevino Pinot Noir 2011

Mushroom Alfredo Pasta

Our 2011 Pinot Noir is produced from fruit sourced . . .


Copyright © 2013-2019 Openwines Limited. All Rights Reserved.

Terms & Conditions | Contact Us

| 登入 | 注册 |

| ENG | |

与奔富浪漫的一天
远处传来羊群啼叫声及鸟鸣声的同时,一阵阵从园子里随着微风飘来的草涩及初熟萍果的气息也扑鼻而来。万里无云的蔚蓝晴空跟我在浅尝的"Bin 144 Yattarna Chardonnay" 同样的通透明亮。此酒源于1995年奔富的构思– 只用凉爽气侯葡萄来酝酿,而又能够充份表达奔富精神及信念的酒。奔富葡萄酒的特色在于葡萄多是收采自不同的产区后才混合酿造。 "Yattarna Chardonnay" 也不例外,只是葡萄集中来自凉爽气候的产区而已。这时侯,整间房间的香气复杂起来了。有一股浓郁的柑橘青柠及盛开的洋甘菊气味从酒杯中跳出,跟刚才的草涩及萍果气息在房间里和谐共舞,口腔里也同样跳跃着生动绵长的白桃及自然矿物酸味,马上便将我带进忘我的境界。不知道过了多少时侯,我蓦然醒觉,需要出发去寻访奔富的历史发源地了。
故事是在1844开始的。奔富家族移居到阿德莱德灯塔山脚,玛格尔庄园里名叫GRANGE的石屋。在1948年之前,在这里酿造的主要是药酒及加强葡萄酒。命运的转捩点在1948年。 Max Schubert (Grange的发明者)原本是为了观察加强葡萄酒- 雪利酒才去欧洲的。在无心插柳之下拜访了波尔多,从而燃点了他对"酿造出可以有起码二十年生命的葡萄酒" 的梦想。他的决心及热情是"1951 Grange Shiraz" 的基石,也把奔富带进历史性的新一页。
多年以来,无论葡萄酒的风格如何改变,奔富一直传承下来的是追求完美及对崭新方法的开放态度。当我悠然地一边喝着"Bin 389 Cabernet Shiraz" - "Poor Man's Grange",一边参观有140年历史的Grange石屋,玛格尔庄园内的Bluestone Vintage Cellar陈年酒窖及地下通道时,我深深的给奔富文化遗产所吸引。其实,"Bin 389" 本身可说是文化遗产的代表之一。 1960年是酿造"Bin 389" 的首年, 而往后的54年也一直充分发挥出奔富的理念精髓- 采用跨品种及跨地区的葡萄可以配酿出水准稳定及品质良好的美酒。所以,基本每一年的"Bin 389" 也会满足品尝者所期待的浓厚花香味,清新饱满的黑莓,顺滑单宁,有层次,平衡,可以早享用但又可陈年的特质。绝不会让品尝者失望。
时近黄昏,我带着优雅的"Bin 707 Cabernet Sauvignon" 向葡萄田中走去。 "Bin 707 Cabernet Sauvignon" 的葡萄全部来自和暖到炎热的产区,恰恰配合上现在田里的温度。此酒热情奔放,有极度浓郁的成熟乌梅,黑樱桃气味,奇异的巧克力,烟熏坚果,甘草及香料的香味,其变化层次跟我眼前绚丽多彩的落霞相映成趣,美不胜收。缓缓地喝着看着细味着,不期然便出神地想把这种奇妙又带迷幻的境界印在心房中,刻在脑海里,坎在灵魂里。回过头来,已是夜幕低垂,华灯初上的时候了。宴会也马上要开始。
晚宴是设在一家华丽辉煌的礼堂,内里挂着的水晶吊灯,在昏暗的灯光掩映之下,照亮了每一位嘉宾的笑脸。能匹配如此华美贵丽氛围的,莫过于"Penfolds Grange Shiraz" 了。
在Langton's的2008年度周年奔富葡萄酒拍卖会中,"Penfolds Bin 1 Grange Hermitage 1951" 的破记录价格是澳币53,936一瓶。所以,若说Grange 是豪华的代表,一点也不为过。就让我今晚放纵一下,在感受Grange的豪华时,也领略体会背后所蕴藏的理念。
Grange是宏伟的葡萄酒。他的成功建基于大胆创新的视野,锲而不舍的坚持及牢不可破的信念。若不是Max Schubert在1951年勇于试验,这瓶诱人,丰厚平衡的酒便不会诞生;若不是Max Schubert在1957 – 1959期间,在管理层停产令下,仍然秘密生产Grange及将1951-1956年的库存藏在地窖,便不会有这瓶香气怡人,澎湃而有深度的Grange;若Max Schubert及他的继承者不是拥抱着坚毅到最后会得到报酬的信念,这瓶强劲又持久的Grange便不能酝酿成长。
夜已深,万籁俱寂。在火炉旁,"小公主" 庸懒又高贵的躺在我身边。她一脸无辜的神情,啡金色眼睛闪烁着期盼,温柔安静的等待着我每天欣然的抚慰服务。我手中的"Penfolds Grandfather Fine Old Liqueur Tawny NV"。顿时用醉人的醇厚及甜蜜味道把空间填满。此酒的口感跟我的"小公主" 的三色毛绒同样如丝顺滑及温软。酒杯中的黄褐色Old Liqueur Tawny在温柔的火光下闪耀出金色的光芒。这时侯,飘浮在空中的坚果,干果,焦糖及陈年的气息跟收音机播放的歌曲交会着..." when life was slow and oh so mellow "...
返回列表
Text : Salina Fok, AIWS
23 Dec 2014
提交配搭

Ca' Del Grevino Pinot Noir 2011

Mushroom Alfredo Pasta

Our 2011 Pinot Noir is produced from fruit sourced . . .


Today Event - 4月7日

Copyright © 2013-2020 Openwines Limited. 版权所有 不得转载.

条款细则 | 联络我们